Balmoral mid-ship cabins

comcox

I've been reading on another website that Balmoral mid-ship cabins have thinner walls (apparently because the ship was stretched at some point) so that noise carries over from adjoining cabins.  Is this true?  This is the one FO ship I've not sailed on before so I have no first-hand knowledge.  Right now I'm booked for cabin 6074 (Inside solo cabin)  for a cruise next summer and people noise (TVs, voices, etc.) so drive me crazy.   Should I try to change cabins?  Thanks for any advice.

• 2 weeks later...
On 3/30/2021 at 10:37 AM, comcox said:

I've been reading on another website that Balmoral mid-ship cabins have thinner walls (apparently because the ship was stretched at some point) so that noise carries over from adjoining cabins.  Is this true?  This is the one FO ship I've not sailed on before so I have no first-hand knowledge.  Right now I'm booked for cabin 6074 (Inside solo cabin)  for a cruise next summer and people noise (TVs, voices, etc.) so drive me crazy.   Should I try to change cabins?  Thanks for any advice.

Hopefully someone with experience of Balmoral will reply soon. I haven't sailed on her but looking at the deck plans, a couple of things occur to me. The back wall of your cabin is behind the Florist, so that should be quiet. Because of the orientation of your cabin, the walls that adjoin other cabins are the two short walls and one of these will also house the bathroom. I would therefore imagine that any noise will be limited by the above factors.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...