Aren't Cruise Lines Proving Vaccines Work?

I was just listening to the La Lido Loca vlog on youtube.  He just got off the Celebrity edge and said it was a 98% vaccinated ship.  They announced every covid case and by the end of the week, there were 7.  The ship sails with 2900 passengers at full capacity.  For arguments sake here, lets say they sailed with 1500.  Those 7 positives represent .4% of that of number. So 99.6% of passengers didnt get covid thanks to vaccines.  Now I know what some might be thinking and that how do you know they did not transmit it to others that will test positive this week.  So lets bring that number to 50.  Thats 3.3 %.  96.7% of the vaccinated passengers were fine if 50 people tested positive after the cruise.  Am I off with this thinking?  Shouldnt the cruise lines and the cdc be touting these numbers as proof?  I am no expert so curious what others think. 

• Like 6

In my opinion I do not think at this time it is worth the hassle. I would not risk my family for a cruise vacation right now.  After 57 cruises, we can afford to wait.  I love cruising and have been blessed to have seen the world but in my opinion the stress, risk and aggravation that comes with traveling is not worth it.  As for the cruise lines i find their protocols to be very inconsistent and that in many instances (celebrity edge this weekend for example) they are changing procedures haphazardly even though there may be a rationale for what they are doing.  I want the cruise lines to survive and i certainly respect those that have decided to sail.  I appreciate your question and I hope the replies are respectful and the discussion is

polite because there is too much divisiveness on these boards and its sad as its nit the way it used to be. Then again nothing is.  Smooth sailing.

• Like 5
  • Thanks 2