• Deals
  • Find a Cruise
  • Reviews
  • News
  • Cruise Tips

I am new

mamaskittles

I am new to cruise critic but not to cruising. In fact I am new to message boards totally and I have a few questions...

Is the purpose of the board to criticize fellow travelers and their opinions or to discuss aspects of cruising ?

I ask this because I have been reading cruise critic since my sister discovered it about a month ago. Many if not a majority of the posts are informative, funny, and downright enjoyable to read. However, a good portion of them are scathing commentaries on fellow travelers.

My questions are as follows;

Why on earth does someone care if a person wears a pair of jeans to dinner formal or not. If that person is not at your table or taking pic's with you why do you care. Maybe they saved for years to go on this cruise and they don't own or can't afford "casual resort wear" and dressed in their nicest pair of jeans.

Why would anyone allow other peoples children to ruin their trip. I have no problem telling a child to stop what ever it is they are doing wrong. Children need direction and if the parent is unable to provide it someone needs to, for the child's sake as well as the adults. If the kid is a brat and wont listen go to security that is what they are there for. That said, I don't mean kids should not be allowed to have fun. I mean they should not be allowed to ruin other peoples fun.

Why do people on boards feel it is OK to criticize fellow passengers because of their weight. I have read many a review where the poster describes the obese feeding at the troughs of the buffets. Cruel.

Smoking is still legal. All smokers should follow the rules or you should report them. But your rights as a nonsmoker are no more valuable than a smokers. They paid to be there too.