Credit Cards - Foreign Transaction Fees???

I am considering obtaining a Capitol ___ VISA card for an upcoming trip to France because after speaking with a CS rep I understand that they do not charge transaction fees on foreign purchases or cash advances. I'm wondering if anyone has had experience using a Capitol ___ VISA in France, and if in fact there is no transaction fee? Also, if there is no fee, do they charge the "market" rate of exchange or "bump" it up to make up for no fee? Any feedback will be appreciated.

(I left the rest of the name out because I don't want to be bumped from the thread.)

I have been using my Capital One card for 2 years in several European countries, including France. As far as I know they are the only card that does not charge this fee.

The exchange rate they used was the actual exchange rate at the time, I didn't see any "bumping" to make up for the 3% they do not charge.

No fees here either in South America, Central America, Asia or Europe.

An important note: Capital One checks overseas Internet transactions very carefully. Each time we make overseas reservations for airlines, hotels and tours our card gets stopped. A message pops up saying our credit card company needs more information. Capital One fraud detection unit phones within minutes. They question if we were making an overseas transaction, who it is we are buying from and how much the purchase is (also which currency). We have been asked specific questions such as how much is our car payment, did we ever live at a certain address, things like that to prove we are who we say we are. I've been very impressed by their customer service. They are one credit card company you MUST notify if you are planning overseas travel or they will block your card.

Our credit union credit card has no fees for overseas charges. BTW, they also do fraud checks.