Considering a new Sony.....advice?

pemlechat

Hi! I am a newbie concerning photography, but would like to get a new camera that is a bit better than a P and S pocket camera. I am considering the soon to be released Sony H50. I would consider another brand, but I have Sony products at home that I think would be compatible. I am going on a Med cruise for the first time and really want a camera that will help me capture my trip without taking more than one or needing to know too much! :eek: Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Hi! I am a newbie concerning photography, but would like to get a new camera that is a bit better than a P and S pocket camera. I am considering the soon to be released Sony H50. I would consider another brand, but I have Sony products at home that I think would be compatible. I am going on a Med cruise for the first time and really want a camera that will help me capture my trip without taking more than one or needing to know too much! :eek: Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Sony makes a lot of good consumer stuff and have a varied line of higher end cameras.

I'm not sure what specifically keep you tied to Sony products?

If you are looking at a superzoom I would take a hard look at the Canon S3 or S5 line that are very good and highly recommended superzooms, or the Olympus S550 ( though not rated nearly as high as the canon ) If you are looking for a compact camera with almost every bell and whistler including the ability to shoot raw but without the size of a DSLR the Canon G9 is a good candidate.

If you are after the superior image, faster response that simply don't exist in any P&S then you must move up to a DSLR. Nikon, Olympus have some very nice compact DSLR. Of course Sony, Canon and others have similar competitive DSLR.

If you are looking for compact yet full feature DSLR the new Olympus line with 3/4 sensor is the best compromise but the lens selection is still not as complete as Nikon or Canon.