• Deals
  • Find a Cruise
  • Reviews
  • News
  • Cruise Tips

HAL insurance vs 3rd party?

LovesSaltwater

Hi, newbie here, racing to make decision about trip insurance before paying deposit. Would love to hear pros/cons over taking HAL's platinum trip insurance vs some outside company :confused: --thanks!

I actually like HAL's Platinum insurance. It's great peace of mind especially if you have children or pets or any reason you might have to cancel that would not be normally covered. At 24 plus hours (That's one day before departure) you would get 90% cash back on your credit card and you do not have to give any reason as its "Cancel for Any Reason". I have not seen ANY policy (through the cruiseline or independant) who will give 90% or 95% of your money back in cash. At 31 days it 95% back. My stepdaughter just decided 31 days out she wasn't going with us to the Med and was I glad I had this policy. Note that it does not cover independant air. It covers pre-existing conditions. The negative is that it has to be paid in full at deposit, is not reundable and an issue in my opinion if you are booking a cruise over a year out (but prior to final payment it can be transfered to another cruise).

The positives are the Cancel for Any Reason with cash back, $50,000 in medical evacuation, pre-existing conditions covered, and piece of mind. It's also workd out great forilder pasengers as it is nt based on age.

Thanks, Jade13. I need to call and verify that, being Washington State residents, we'd still get the "for any reason" insurance, because today while researching 3rd party trip insurance, found out wasn't eligible to take that option because of living here. boo hoo, but if HAL does allow, then seems like a slam-dunk to take the Platinum! Anybody else have anything to share on this?

Anybody else have anything to share on this?