• Deals
  • Find a Cruise
  • Reviews
  • News
  • Cruise Tips

Elliptical... How many minutes can you do?

Ladydee

I am bummed and ready to quit. After two weeks of almost every day on the nasty machine, I can just barely push myself to 30 minutes at one time (no breaks). I would just like to know where I fit in with that. Am I embarrassingly out of shape?

Well, you don't say what level you are using. Or what machine. They can be very different. (I prefer the Precor EFXs.)

It totally depends on your level of effort. Are you doing high intensity? Working up a hard sweat? If so, 30 min is perfectly adequate. I do a minimum of 30 min every day, either on the elliptical, the step mill, or running. All three are done at a level that leaves me dripping, but I've been doing this for over 5 years, so I'm pretty used to it. If I have time to do more than 30 min, I do. On the elliptical I am generally at level 8, but I go up to 12 for some peaks, and down to 6 if I need a quick break.

If you have only been doing it for 2 weeks, you've only just begun! Give yourself some time!! Gosh, don't quit - that's the WORST thing you can do.

the elliptical is a wonderful machine--I do it 4 to 5 days a week

I agree that it depends on what level and resistance you are doing. I can usually do 30-45 with no problem. Easier on the knees than running, and burns about the same amount of calories!

Keep at it. Your stamina will increase over time.

45 minutes to an hour here. Just depends on if I'm doing a hill program or not.

But I will say when I first started using the contraption I could barely go 5 minutes before my legs were jello.

With exercise my belief is you should only compare yourself to your previous efforts ... never anyone else.

45 minutes to an hour here. Just depends on if I'm doing a hill program or not.

But I will say when I first started using the contraption I could barely go 5 minutes before my legs were jello.