• Deals
  • Find a Cruise
  • Reviews
  • News
  • Cruise Tips

RCCL or Princess for Southern Caribbean

We are planning a family cruise in Jan. 10 and can't decide which ship, AOS or the Caribbean Princess for the Southern Caribbean. We are all adults and most have not cruised before. Both itineraries look good but was wondering how the ships compare.

As I'm new to CC, would appreciate help from past cruisers.

Thanks!:)

Cruising, we have sailed both on Princess and RCL, and we enjoy them both. When i am deciding, I also take into account, the length of times we will be at each port, so compare each. We did the Brilliance for our E Caribbean, our first Radiance Class and they are our favorite. Is there much of a price differance between the two. For overall Cruising, we do prefer RCL, but will not hesitate to go with Princess if the itnerary & price works out better.

We are planning a family cruise in Jan. 10 and can't decide which ship, AOS or the Caribbean Princess for the Southern Caribbean. We are all adults and most have not cruised before. Both itineraries look good but was wondering how the ships compare.

As I'm new to CC, would appreciate help from past cruisers.

Thanks!:)

While I like RCCL, if I were in your shoes, I would pick the Princess ship. The AOS is always full of families, and Princess is just a bit more upscale (especially that time of year), than RCCL.

On January 10th most children are at school, so I wouldn't worry about families. We did the southern cruise on AOS and it was marvellous; we have also cruised twice on Caribbean Princess. I love both ships and you honestly can't go wrong with either, so here are some things to think about.

CP uses freshwater in the pools (these might be warmer in January than the sea water used by AOS)

CP's pools are more spread out and you can generally find a quiet and a noisier pool

CP has movies under the stars which is wonderful on a warm caribbean evening.