Balmoral WiFi

Atriumgirl

Does anyone know how much FO charge for their WiFi? and is it reliable? We're trying to decide whether or not to take the iPad. My mental packing list is approaching 'kitchen sink' level and we still have 11 weeks to go - and time find out what else we absolutely have to take!

Does anyone know how much FO charge for their WiFi? and is it reliable? We're trying to decide whether or not to take the iPad. My mental packing list is approaching 'kitchen sink' level and we still have 11 weeks to go - and time find out what else we absolutely have to take!

I have no personal experience of using wi-fi on Fred's ships. From what I observed on BW earlier this year, you have to be in certain nominated places in the ship. I recall thinking it was expensive when I saw the price. You have to remember that it's no faster than the normal internet connection which, as you probably know, is via satellite and can be painfully slow.

I would take an iPad with me if I had one, but I reckon I might be better using it in a WiFi cafe on shore. Still considering whether or not to buy one.

Thanks, worldfamoustravellers, for your input. I can't remember much about the daily crosswords produced by FO other than that they are British and therefore intelligible and do-able. We mostly cruise on American ships and have given up on their crosswords - we're just not on the same wavelength, so to speak!

On their other ships, WiFi is available in the library area, and costs about £10 for 50 minutes. I assume it's the same for the Balmoral (which I'm on in October!)

I took my iPad last year on the Boudicca, and it worked fine, a bit slow though. I used to get my emails then logout to go through and reply to them. When I was ready i'd login back in and all the emails would get sent. Doing it this way meant my £10 went a bit further.

Bernie