Anyone been in Volendam Cabin 6215

namaste859

This is my first time to book a trip on a cruise and we are going to Alaska on HAL's Y1-T cruisetour. We will be aboard the Volendam for four nights and I'm trying to find a good cabin. Currently, we are booked in I-7071 on the Navigation deck, which I chose because of the location and service. However, I am also looking at 6215 in the Veranda deck. From looking at the map, it is all by itself, surrounded by...space...The configuration looks weird too. Has anyone been in either of these rooms and can give some feedback? Thanks.

The I cabins on the Navigation deck are HUGE and really a bargain for the cost. You can walk aft and right out the back door to a little known, little used public deck w/lounge chairs, benches, and a wonderful aft view. Its like having a verandah without the cost! Just one flight of steps up from that "secret" deck is the aft Lido pool, the Sea View Bar and steps into the Lido Restaurant. We sailed in an oceanview cabin on the sister ship, Amsterdam, to Alaska - and our window looked out over this secret deck. Literally five steps out our door to what we ended up using as our balcony - and for much less $$$!!! It was great! The cabin number on the Volendam is 7086, so check that out on the deck plans and see if you can swing that cabin instead of the inside. You'll lose a bit of space because it is configured different than those insides on the Navigation deck, but like I said, the quick and ready access to the outdoors is fantastic and a real bonus when sailing in Alaska. Nothing like those wake views!;)

Sorry, can't help you with the cabin on the Verandah deck, but I do know that there is another "secret" deck on the aft of that floor as well. The difference is that the super structure of the ship blocks your aft views when seated on the Verandah deck, as opposed to the open railing on the secret aft deck of the Navigation deck.

Good luck! And enjoy Alaska - it is amazing!