Sony DSC-T1. A great multipurpose digital camera for travelers

CruizerBill

I share this information because members have inquired of the camera used in my cruise photos. I am not a professional photographer; my comments come from the perspective of a Photo Enthusiast just offering to help others capture their once-in-a-lifetime memories.

SONY DSC-T1 SAMPLE PICS – resolution has been lowered for web viewing.

The Sony DSC-T1 is a 5 Megapixel ultra compact, about the size of a pack of playing cards. At less than an inch thick, it can be easily transported in your front pant pocket or small purse. Although it will also fits in a shirt pocket, I found it more obtrusive there. With current Internet pricing at $400-500, it is clearly at the high end of the Point & Shoot category. Given the price, I still regard the DSC-T1 as one of the best all-around Point & Shoot digital cameras. Add the economically priced Sony underwater housing and you've created a compact multipurpose camera package that hard to match.

Camera - Sony Cyber-shot DSC-T1 Digital Camera

• 5.0 Megapixel
  • 3X optical lens, 2X digital zoom
  • 2.5" LCD monitor
  • Carl Zeiss® Vario-Tessar® Lens
  • MPEG (640x480, 30fps) with audio
  • Media- Memory Stick Duo
  • Dimensions- 3 5⁄8" x 2 3⁄8" x 4⁄5" (91 x 60 x 21mm)
  • Weight- 6.3 oz (180g) w/battery, Memory Stick Duo™ Media & Wrist Strap
  • DSC-T1 Specification Sheet (pdf)

Underwater Housing - Sony MPKTHA (aka Marine Pak)

• $200 MSRP, I found mine on eBay at ~$125.
  • Designed specifically for the DSC-T1, the camera fits snug in this compact housing.
  • All camera features remain accessible through watertight controls.
  • Rated for operation to ~120ft. (I’ve taken mine down to 80ft.)

LIKES, DISLIKES AND TIPS

What’s HOT -

• 5 megapixels allow for picture cropping without significant loss of detail. More megapixels = more cropping options.