Scopolomine Patches

RachelEllen

Hi,

Anyone have any experience with scopolomine patches? I get really, really seasick on small boats and have no problems on cruise liners. We're doing our first cruise, 7 days, on a smaller ship (inbetween those two extremes), so I'm nervous about seasickness. I don't want to use unneccesary medicine, but I also know the patches don't work as well if you wait until you are sick before using them. Anyone have personal experience with how long they take to kick in? Comparing a 100ft boat with a 20 ft as far as seasickness? Side effects from using the patch for 6 days?

Thanks,

Rachel

p.s. Pls don't tell me to ask my doctor. I did. THey were happy to write the script, but have no experience with the medication. For what it's worth, I am a doctor and have read up on the medication, but I want to incorporate other's experience into what I plan to do!

Hi Rachel! My best friend had cruised before her and I took a cruise last fall. She had used the patches on a previous cruise, and said that she applied them the minute she got on board--before they even left port--and wore them the whole time.

This time, however, she took them, but didn't use any. In place of the patches, she took some advice about herbals. She took bonine and ginger supplements and had no problems at all. I'm a little skeptical of homeopathic medicine myself (we are both nurses), but it seemed to work well for her.

I know her previous cruise was for 7 days and she used Scop-patches the whole time and didn't even have trouble with getting her land legs back once they disembarked. Hope this helps!

~Steph~

Celebration 9/13/03--NBA Bachelorette Cruise--AWESOME!!

Next cruise? NOT SOON ENOUGH!!

Many years ago my wife and I both took scopolamine during an extended cruise.

I had no adverse reaction, but my wife did upon our arrival home.