I may have to have foot surgery. How will it affect my cruise?

ssatterly

Hi all..

I have 2 bone spurs that are cutting into and inflameing my Plantar Fascia (The ligaments on the very bottom of the foot) and Achilles Tendon.

My doctor is trying to avoid surgery by giving me pain killers and anti inflamatory's along with cortisone shots on the bottom of my foot and icing it down.

If that does not work then she is going to try Physical theraphy. I would do that 2 times a week for a month or so. If that don't help then i may have to have surgery.

And I have a cruise booked in Dec.

My foot is beging to affect my job. I am a EMT (Emegency Medical Tech.) I am ALWAYS on my feet and my Doctor thinks that is how I got the bone spurs. It is getting harder to work and even do everyday things. When i am at work I am in alot of pain.

If I have surgery it seems like the timing would be a moth or so before my cruise. And It takes 6 to 8 weeks to heal all the way. Including even more Physical theraphy.

I won't know untill after the 1st round of therapy if Ihave to have surgery.

I will be on the Radiance. How hard would it be to get around with say crutches or in a cast. If I have to have it before I cruise. HOPEFULLY if I have to have it I can postpone it untill after my cruise.

Any thoughts would help!!!

Thanks Susie

Hi Susie,