SHALLOW Sting Ray City Trip

PappaSiera

I've heard that some excursions offer trips to locations where you can stand on the bottom. This would be about the only way I could convince DW to experience SRC as she can't swim, and nervous is not the word to describe how she would feel in water over her head. Anyone know of any operators that offer this specificaly?

Thanks!

We have a nonswimmer in our group as well and I emailed Kelly's watersports and asked if this would work with a nonswimmer.

http://www.kellyswatersports.com.ky/html/trips.html

They said it would be fine and they provide life vests for those unsure of themselves.

I'm not endorsing Kelly's as I have no experience with them one way or another. You might want to look at the above web site. The photo shows people standing in what appears to be waist deep water. I think we'll be giving it a shot.

If you would like, I can forward a copy of their email reply to you, but I would need your email address.

-Monte

The names can sometimes get confusing - make sure you are going to the SANDBAR. There is a deeper Stingray City (around 12 ft) - more for divers, but you can really snorkel instead of walking, if that is what someone wants.

As mentioned, all operators have life vests. Usually snorkel vests (the inflatable kind) are what they hand out, but some might break out a real life jacket (they have those too).

If it is still too much, wife doesn't have to get off of the boat (but would be a shame), and she can always get out of the water and back onto the boat at any time.

If she refuses to get out of the boat, one of the guides might even bring a stingray over to her. So many people have done Stingray Sandbar that I have little doubt that the operators have knowledge and experience dealing with all types of people.