Handicap Cabin on Fantasy Class

INTERLINER13

I was considering changing cabins on my upcoming cruise, but the few cabins left are for ADA compliant. It is an interior cabin on the Empress deck on the Elation. What is the major differences between a regular cabin and this one? Is it bigger, or are the doors just bigger? Has anyone else has an ADA room, who was not in a wheelchair?

I'm not in a wheelchair, but my husband is, so I'm going to answer. I'm wondering though why you asked for replies from people not in a wheelchair?

If I read your signature correctly you are sailing this month. If the cabins are available this late they are probably not required by people who will not be able to cruise without them so I won't go starting that whole other popcorn required mess :rolleyes:

The floor area is larger, not a lot and I'm not good at guesstimating size, but enough larger to enable a wheelchair to turn in a circle, but it is still reasonably tight, so you aren't getting a "dance floor". There is not enough extra space to enable a person not in a wheelchair to be doing anything else you can't do in a standard cabin. As for the bathroom - I personally detest handicap bathrooms, though this may be the case of the grass being greener on the other side of the fence - there are grab bars everywhere, watch your elbows if you aren't used to avoiding them; the sink is slightly lower with no shelves underneath; the drop down seat in the shower, even when not folded down, forces you closer to the wet yucky shower curtain and gives you something else to bruise your hips and thighs against; the floor floods very easily, there never seems to be enough of a drainage slope to get the water down the drains easily. The floor area is probably 1.5 to 2 times the area of a standard cabin bathroom, again just enough to turn a wheelchair.