Earning Miles on British Airways

jrcooper

I hope someone can help me with a question about how to get credit for air miles on British Airways. We are not frequent flyers on any airline ,and I have no experience with how to get them, and I have never used them before. Since this trip involves many miles, I would like to get credit for them if it is possible. We booked a flight by phone several months ago through British Airways from DFW to Rome and then a return flight from Venice to DFW for our cruise in September 2005. We have World Traveller seats, and as far as I know they were not any kind of special discount, etc. I tried to sign up for the Executive Club, but was denied even though I met the qualifications. When I put in the booking reference number for our seats on the website, I received a statement saying these seats do not apply for BA miles. I tried 3 times with the same answer. I called British Airways to find out "why" we will not get any credit for these miles, and after finally getting a "live" person to talk to, the only response she gave me was "if the system said they did not apply, then no miles would be available." She would not explain to me "why" or even ask what my booking reference number was. Does anyone here know why I will not be able to get credit for all of these miles?

Any explanation would be appreciated.

jrcooper

How strange, I booked my BA airfare last year via Expedia, then I went to the BA site, plugged in my info and was accepted.

Maybe you should call them back and simply ask that you'd like to enroll, don't tell them about your online experience, maybe you have better luck or at least a decent answer as to why you were denied.

PS I hope you are flying Club World - It's fabulous!! :D