Go Pro or Other brand for still pictures for novice

FireEater

I am a novice to cameras and have been looking at Go Pro. Looks like it works great for videos, but what about still photo's? Is it too much of a action video type of electronic, and less of a good quality still picture camera ?

I just started looking a few days ago as all I have now is a point and shoot Kodak C180 and a cell phone to use, which I might say, have been taking mighty fine pictures.

Not sure if I want to invest $300 plus for a camera that will produce the same as what I am holding now.

I also wonder if the 3 version will be just as good as a 4 version for still pictures.

What are some good choices for a novice, wanting good pictures when on cruises that are close to $300 or so ?? I guess zoom is a must along with being able to take it underwater and at night or in somewhat dark places....

I know I am rambling on, but I want to be smart about my next camera, if in fact, I need one...well ok, I do not need one, I just have a few bucks burning a hole in my pocket.... ;)

Any help appreciated. :cool:

My .02: You do not want a GoPro for stills.

No zoom, super wide angle lens, except for the latest model - they stink in low light, and no viewfinder to compose without using an app or lcd back.

My Galaxy Note 3 takes MUCH better stills than my GoPro 3, I can edit and adjust them with multiple apps, and is way easier to use all around.

My GoPro gives me the occasional cool "in your face" close ups, weird but unique fisheye architectural shots, and of course great underwater or harsh environment shots I couldn't get any other way.

Thanks for the 02 cents.