Film Question!

I am a first time cruiser who will be using a film camera on the cruise. I am going to take it in my carry-on, but I know X-ray machines will often damage film. What is the best way to avoid this from happening? How do I carry film and keep it from being exposed? Thanks in Advance!

Also if you are really worried about the x-rays and you are using 800, just go to a good photo shop and they should have film bags that will shield the film. I've used them in my check in bags and have not had a problem.

Good Luck

Crusin Gal, this is what you need to do, as a professional photographer I run into this alot, first take all film out of the boxes and the plastic containers, put the film in a ziplock bag carry with your carry-on and hand them to the screener at the check point, always ask if you may do this and you should have no problem. also the faster the film 8oo or higher the more risk of ruining your film,as for me I never shoot more than 200 if I have to hand hold, if I have a tri-pod with me it is always 50 ISO. good luck and shoot away.:)

• 2 weeks later...