What underwater camera do you use for SCUBA?

turtlegirl2

Hi all, I've been thinking about getting another UW camera for our upcoming cruise/dive trip. Several years ago I had an Olympus UW that I really liked (it was the mid-range version, not the 5050) and it had a nice UW case. Got it online and used it for several dive trips to Cozumel. Well, the camera started acting up and I never did get it fixed, so basically I've been without camera on our last few dive/cruise trips (Cozumel, Belize, Grand Turk) :(

We will be diving in November in Southern Caribbean ports and I'd like to take some pics again. What are you using these days and/or what would you recommend?

Thanks,

Jacque

I've been using a Nikonos 5 for 25 years but just bought a cheap digital and housing. It hasn't been in the water yet, but looks like it will work well. It also is an Olympus; FE360 in the Olympus PT-044 housing. Bought the used camera on ebay and new housing from Adorama in NYC online--total of $138. I considered Ikelite's Nikon point and shoot and others, but went as cheap as possible. I ran into Backscatter's best uw tests for 09 and this is the recommended setup in the point and shoot category. Google Backscattter Photo. I expect they might have a new recommendation soon as the camera appears to have been discontinued. It is still available new however.

SEALIFE DC camera. Made by Divers for divers. You can stop wasting your time looking for a digital camera that had someone else make a housing for it as an AFTERTHOUGHT. The Sealife cameras also have special software for UW photos, they shoot video, they have more settings than you will EVER learn to use... Plus they are GUARANTEED to 200 feet. It's really a no brainer.

But I guess I am repeating myself.