Newbie question...Tacky?

RickD

Greetings all,

I am taking my wife on a surprise cruise on the Oosterdam in April. We will be celebrating our 25th anniversary and this will be our first cruise.

My tradition has been to give my wife a number or red roses equal to the year of our anniversary. Last year was easy with a nice even 2 dozen! Since we will be away a week before we board (Detouring through Vegas and Palm Springs) I am going to order 25 roses for our cabin so that she can enjoy them during the cruise.

I have picked up some great advice from these boards but there is one thing I haven't read much about— "Bon Voyage" gifts.

Being a rookie I have just become aware of the custom (ordering the roses) and I think it is a rather nice idea. We don't know anyone who has cruised so our family, friends and co-workers would probably not be aware of this either.

The rub here is that since we are leaving before our actual anniversary and will be away for 2 weeks we are not giving anyone the opportunity to wish us well. (Assuming that they wanted to)

I am thinking that if anyone were so inclined then a "BV Gift" would be a great idea.

I am sending out our itinerary and the dilemna I am having is this:

How do I inform the "crowd" of this opportunity without making it appear that I am "asking" for something?

Would this just be too tacky?

Any thoughts?

Rick,

Just add a little note that you will be giving your DW a Bon Voyage gift of a the roses on the ship. Then other can call you and ask how you did it if they want to send a gift.

BTW you can order flowers and other items off the ship and have it delivered to the ship at a greatly reduced rate than ordering through the ship.

Deb

I bring my wife flowers just 'cause.

'Cause I'm in the grocery store and happen to see them.

'Cause I'm on my way home and think of it.

'Cause she just came from the dentist and it would make her feel good.

'Cause she didn't laugh at me when I did something REALLY stupid in public.