First cruise EVER...Norwegian Jewel...and I'm on a vegan diet. Will I starve?!

CampbellScot

Okay I know I won't starve, but I'm a little worried for a lot of reasons. I'm on rather sudden and forced vegan diet b/c of medical issues and allergy testing. This just kind of came up. We are NOT canceling the cruise. So my question is to any Vegan folks out there who are fans of cruising...is it possible to eat vegan without being banished to the salad bar all week? Are there restaurants that do vegan entrees? I'm such a total newbie to cruising. I know NOTHING. I would appreciate any suggestions.

:)

Sorry, I don't know much about Vegan. But each evening there appeared to be 2 non-meat choices on the MDR menu. One from the menu that changes nightly and one from the Classic menu that stays the same every night.

Hope that helps

I was on the jade last week and met a few vegans, they said they were very happy with the buffet selection..fruit, vegatables,salads and especially the indian vegan dishes and asian wok cooked to order items. They also said the mdr alizar were very good at suggesting vegan alternatives.

Please don't stress about this, you will have a fabulous time! I am a vegan and have been on 4 cruises in the last 4 years (3 on NCL) with two more scheduled in the next year. I have NEVER had a problem on NCL. One piece of advice I have for you is to call NCL or your Travel Agent and ask for your reservation to be tagged as "vegetarian" (they don't have a vegan option). Then, upon boarding or during the first night at dinner, let your server know that you are vegan and would like to speak with the Maitre' D. The Maitre' D will come over to your table and meet with you about all of the options. What they have done in the past for me is bring me the following night's menu and had me make a meal selection and they make it vegan. I'll highlight some of the many things I've eaten on cruises for each meal below so you have an idea: