Travel Insurance??? General Question...

Go Cards

I am taking my first cruise in March on the Costa Magica. Initially when asked by my travel agent about insurance, I declined. I recently had a friend that became very ill on their cruise and didn't have the insurance and incurred a lot of expenses to get home.

Does anyone have any experience with the Costa insurance? Do you usually opt for it? Anyone needed it?

I am a college student trying to go for as cheap as possible, but didn't know if it is "rolling the dice" in the cruise world to not purchase this??

We have gotten insurance through our travel agent and it was only $29pp. On our last cruise we didn't use it but the one before we did. My husband got the flu 2 days into the cruise and went to the ship doctor. We paid for that and the meds but were reimbersed after we go home. It's worth the peace of mind for me. It's worth at least checking into.

If you can find it cheap someplace, call or search around.

The biggest piece to me is the medical insurance part of it. I have my own through work, but the travel includes air lifting you back home.

I know a guy who's daughter jumped into the water, broke her neck, he gets a call needing $30,000 for the helicoptor to lift off to go and get her.

The insurance also offers other benefits that in the long run make it worth it.

Of course, 99.9% of the time you'll never need it, just like all insurance, but when you do, you are very thankful you have it!