Opinion and thoughts required....

Adam_7

Well, I'm starting my fairly large painting of the amazing QM2. Right now all i have is the outline of what will be later painted on the canvas. So what i'm asking is for your thoughts on how it looks, what i should edit, etc...

I couldn't think of a better place to ask this regarding a painting of the QM2 than the Cunard line boards =)

So please be honest, i'm not afraid to take a little criticism...

Anyway this is it:

DSC01173.jpg

Nice job!

But on first glance, the port wing seems to be angled backwards.

That's at a glance, mind you. I'm no artist.

And the wake coming off the bow appears to be going forward of the ship instead of out and back. Of course, this is only a sketch and those things, no doubt, get ironed out in the actually brush strokes.

And I wouldn't even be able to make the sketch.

Good luck! Well, I suppose with talent (which you obviously have) you don't need luck!

It really is an impressive beginning. I wish I had artistic talent. It is frustrating when you feel inspired but what comes out of your hand is not what you see in your brain!

Karie,

whose talents lie elsewhere...somewhere!

Just about every picture I have seen of a transatlantic ship displayed one (usually more) imposing funnels. In an era of less environmental concern, these funnels were always depicted belching enormous amounts of smoke invoking a sense of power. You cant show the smoke today, because there is little of it, but a generously proportioned funnel will still suggest the power she possesses.;)

Thanks for all your comments, i really appreciate them... Now in regards to the funnel, i will most likely put one in, but in reality, compared to the photo in which this sketch modelled on, the funnel was not visible due to the angle.

I did however mod the angle of the ship so i may have to include it... we'll see