trenitalia tickets

I am trying to buy train tickets on the Trenitalia website and my credit cards are denied. Am I missing something or do they not accept US cards? Has anyone bought tickets through this website? Thanks

What are you trying to buy tickets for? In most cases it is totally unnecessary to purchase tickets ahead of time. Tickets for regionale trains cannot be purchased in advance. On the subject of ticket purchase, I think that the Trenitalia site is limited to within Italy only.

Your best bet for help is with the Trip Advisor board. Have you used that? It is much better with questions like these. You don't get answers like "why are you trying to buy tickets?" I do believe they don't accept american credit cards, but I am not an expert. Try the forum of the city you want to leave from. There will be a wealth of information there for you.

Good luck!:)

I'm trying to buy overnight tickets from Rome to Paris and it says I can purchase, but when I submit my credit card it is denied. The prices on Trenitalia are better than Rail Europe.

Post this question on slowtrav.com You will get the right answer fast. FYI, I just saw on Trenitalia site, Italian credit cards only, but check the site I noted for the best answer.

I am trying to buy train tickets on the Trenitalia website and my credit cards are denied. Am I missing something or do they not accept US cards? Has anyone bought tickets through this website? Thanks

Linda

I had this same problem trying to book tickets when we traveled to Sorrento in July. I was trying to book Naples to Rome on Trenitalia and also had my card denied. Someone on the tripadvisor board suggested i use a travel agent in Sorrento to book. I wasn't too happy with this suggestion since i wanted to have all tickets purchased before we left the US and wanted a specific travel time.