Windstar now charging for Papeete day room? What's up with that?

SB_Travlr

I had an unpleasant surprise last week -- my TA sent me a copy of a fax she received from Windstar on 10/25, part of which states: "Please be advised that complimentary day rooms/hospitality rooms will no longer be available beginning November 5, 2004." (They do um, generously (!), offer that we can pre-purchase a day room for $90 per person, which includes transfers.) :mad:

I am mystified by this change in their policy so close to our sailing day (11/26). We have all our docs and tickets, everything is paid for and should be all set. Isn't that a contract, binding arrangements on both sides? (Maybe you can tell I'm not a lawyer.) What kind of marketing genius decided it would be worth annoying their clients for a grand total of the 8 or 9 sailings that remain before they leave FP for Costa Rica? We were pleased as Windstar alums to get a cabin credit as a token of their appreciation -- and now all but $10 of that will be used up for day room charges? Are they nuts?

I called my TA, and her reaction was much like mine. I'm emailing her my comments, which she will forward with her agency's comments supporting my opinion (they sell a lot of W-star business). We do want a day room, but we don't appreciate being held captive for the decision. :mad:

So who else got one of these w-grams? What is your reaction?

$90 per person sounds very high for a day room even in Tahiti. A lot of the hotels can double book rooms anyway since people arriving in the wee hours reserve the previous night so the room will be available at 4 or 5 a.m. Your TA can probably get you a better deal independently. That is poor marketing to change the plan less than 30 days before departure.