Sony HX50--Looking for a new point and shoot

I'm looking to purchase a new point and shoot camera with a high resolution and a very good zoom...but don't want to spend more than $450. Sony has released the HX50 which sounds like a good option for me (20+ megapixels and a 30x zoom)--but I can't find it locally in my area.

Has anyone seen and/or purchased this camera? Any and all thoughts are appreciated...! Thanks...! :)

I've actually seen it online at a number of places...but I can't really get a sense of its true size. I'd love to see it in person before ordering, but I'm also hoping some folks who have it or have seen it would weigh in with any thoughts...

Thanks for the scoop on Consumer Reports! Nice to know they like it...! :)

I have an HX5V and according to the specs, it is about the same size...quite pocketable. I've been using mine for about 2 years now now and have nothing but praise for it. Features like sweep panorama and multi-frame noise reduction sound complex but offer pro results with point and shoot simplicity.

Dave

• 2 weeks later...