How's the cell phone service?

Chuck & Phyllis

I have Verizon and it's suppose to work on Princess ships in international waters. Cost $2.49 a minute. Has anyone used it here? How was the reception? TIA

There is a extensive article here on CC regarding cell phones at sea. Go to the home page of CC and click on PLANNING which is located on the upper right side. You will be shown a rather long list of links. The one that you are looking for is CONNECTION@SEA.

I believe that the system that Princess uses is MCP, Maritime Communication Partner at www.MCP.com That site will give you some background info on what they provide.

I have very little experience with onboard cell phones. From my last cruise in Alaska I noticed that the onboard system is turned off in port. When it is restored after you have sailed out of port the system automatically connects with your cell phone. If someone calls you you will be charged. I put my iPhone in Airplane mode when I’m at sea and do not need to talk to anybody.

I experienced a rather unique situation while docked in Vancouver. While I was on the south side of the ship I could get Seattle cell connections. While on the north side of the ship my phone would connect with Canadian providers and I would have been charged roaming fees. Needless to say I made all my calls from the south side of the boat.

I don’t know about Version but AT&T offers a 30% discount on international calls for a $5 monthly fee. This will be useful when we are in port or touring on land excursions.

Cheers, VegasPier