Is this true

Hi,

I'm kinda new to this so excuse if this has been asked before.

I have this frequent flyer pass from United, with quite some miles on it. I read that United does offer cruises too. You can redeem your miles in order to pay fo the cruise. Apparantly it's a mile per dollar.

So, (remember I'm dutch) if the cruise would cost me USD 10,000 it can be paid by handing over 10,000 miles? I think this is what they say on their site. I have a hard time believing this, it seems so cheap where is the catch?

Have a good trip you'all.

Frank

Hi,

I'm kinda new to this so excuse if this has been asked before.

I have this frequent flyer pass from United, with quite some miles on it. I read that United does offer cruises too. You can redeem your miles in order to pay fo the cruise. Apparantly it's a mile per dollar.

So, (remember I'm dutch) if the cruise would cost me USD 10,000 it can be paid by handing over 10,000 miles? I think this is what they say on their site. I have a hard time believing this, it seems so cheap where is the catch?

Have a good trip you'all.

Frank

Yes, you can "cash in" miles for things other than airline tickets. However, there is no way that a cruise would only be 10,000 miles. The bare minimum amount of miles that need to be cashed in for a domestic flight is 25,000 miles so there is no way a cruise could be less than that. I think where you may be getting confused is that United Airlines has a Visa card in which you can EARN 1 mile for every dollar spent. Hope this helps. :)

• 2 weeks later...

Frank-

did you check out unitedcruise.com? It's got info on there although it doesn't really say how many miles you need for a cruise. They sell cruises on the site (where you earn miles by purchasing from them) but they also refer to redeeming miles for cruises.