Galveston With an Electric Wheelchair

mistshar

When we go on our cruise in April, I will be using a mobility wheelchair. I wonder if anyone who has used a wheelchair or scooter has parked at Park N Cruise or Galveston VIP Parking and rode in them crossing the street. Did you have any issues going across the railroad tracks? We will be going on Liberty of the Seas.

I posted this on the disabled site and did not receive any responses so I thought I might get some help on this one.

Thank you for your information.

We have used this port several times with a handicap scooter. I usually drop off my wife with the scooter at the ship and then ride back on the bus. On debarkation we all rode in the Handicap equipped lift right out to our car. As I recall, they have several vans equipped with a lift in the rear to get you back to your car and pick you up from your parking spot. We always used the parking provided by the Port authority because I am a disabled Vet and they offer parking for free if you have VA card showing your disability or a letter showing your amount of compensation.

No help on your question, but on your return, when heading to customs, stay in the far right lane to obtain a porter for help thru customs. I use a walker. Enjoy.

Thank you for your info. That will be most helpful.

When we go on our cruise in April, I will be using a mobility wheelchair. I wonder if anyone who has used a wheelchair or scooter has parked at Park N Cruise or Galveston VIP Parking QUOTE]

BTW: VIP is a little closer than PNC. The entrance to VIP is right on the corner and PNC is around the corner and depending what category you buy your car can be down the alley a ways. We booked indoor so we where just off the street a little. But PNC had outside parking slots all the way down the block. I know that might be hard to visualize but if you Google earth it you will see what I am talking about. If mobility is a real concern then go with VIP.