2023 Grand Voyage/2024 World Cruise.

chrism23

Your input is needed.  I am booking far out  I do have the Scotland expedition on the Cloud booked for August 2022.    I used some FFC's and cash to book the South American Grand Voyage which is from Ft. Lauderdale round trip sailing January 2023.  The ship is the Silver Moon and it is for 70 days.  I have not been on the Moon before.  I have done perhaps 1/3 of this itinerary, mainly the Caribbean and the Panama Canal transit.   Haven't we all done the Caribbean to death.  The second itinerary I am looking at is the 2024 world cruise which is round trip from San Francisco departing January 2024 for 130 days.  The ship is the Silver Shadow, which I have been on twice. The major plus of this for me is it gets me to the far east and Australia which I have never done before because the flights are just too damn long.  The Frisco to Frisco R/T is a big bonus.  The only segment of this cruise I have done before is the short Alaska leg.  Now the big question, pardon me rounding off some numbers.  For me, 130 days on the Shadow feels too long.  The Shadow has a capacity of 300.  It is older.  Its restaurant choices are more limited.  Frankly I don't know why SS is using the Shadow for its World Tour?  If the WT was on the Moon I wouldn't be having this dilemma.  So right now, I like the itinerary a lot better, but the ship a lot less.  With the South American Grand Voyage the reverse is true, the ship beats the itinerary by big margin.  Also looking this far ahead is probably pointless, bu the South American cruise makes a number of stops in Brazil,  and I fear, and this seems paranoid 18 months out, is that Brazil will not have been able to manage its COVID  crisis by then, the country is totally dysfunctional and a complete mess, and even that far ahead, I see ports being shut and itineraries being canceled.  The fact the the WT is twice as long really isn't a factor.  I haven't done a cruise of either length and I am eithe