Info Needed Re: Credit Card For Ss Card

BrodyBarb

I'm new to cruising. What is the procedure for money for ss cards?

If I don't want to use my cc how much will I have to put into my ss card account in cash?

I'm with Carnival Destiny.

Also my TA said that all my gratuities have been included in the cost of this cruise. Will I still be automatically billed for tips??

Would appreciate all the info you can give.

We don't like to use a credit card for onboard expenses either, it's a pretty rude awakening the next month. But for ease of boarding, we go ahead and set up our onboard account with a cc. Towards the end of the cruise, we pay our balance in cash or travellers checks. There are usually a couple of charges the last night, for drinks and such. We sometimes leave those on the card so we don't have to wait in the long line at the pursers desk. We have found that by budgeting the cash for expenses, we don't go crazy with the spending.

Most cruise lines ask for $250 in cash at the time you check in if you don't want to use a credit card. Once that amount is close to being used up, you will be notified to come to the purser's desk and put more money into your account. If there's money left at the end of your cruise, you have to go and stand in line the morning of your departure and get a refund. That's a real pain in the behind because you could stand in line for a very long time.

Thank you both for your help. I think I'm going to have to use my credit card then. I hope I don't have to really use it. There's no way I'm going to stand in a queue even though there probably won't be that many people disembarking in Barbados. I'll probably put whatever we may use to one side and put it straight in our bank when I get home. I don't want to have to be still paying for our vacation when we get back.

Thanks again, you've been very helpful.:)