I may be crazy...

summercruisin'

Okay, for the past few years, I've cruised every summer (I'm a teacher, so that's when I can usually get away). This past summer, however, I couldn't go because I had a baby in late April. I have been VERY down about it, and I can't stand the thought of waiting alllllll the way until next summer to go.

So, to damper my depression, I occassionally search cruises and pretend I'm going to go. Well, today I found I could potentially go for a long weekend in January (exam week at school) on the Fantasy to Cozumel (which is fantastic, as I love Paradise Beach). The catch...I'd have to take my two kids (age 6 and 9 months). But, even with air and everything, it's an affordable trip.

So, I have a lot of questions about all kinds of things...

1. I'm used to going on week-long trips on big ships. Will I dislike the short itenerary and smaller/older ship?

2. Is Paradise Beach (and the whole cruise, for that matter) easily doable with a good-natured 9 month old?

3. Will it be worth the trouble of travelling with two kids?

4. Will all the other passengers hate us? :p

5. Can 9 mo DD go without a passport?

6. Will flights scheduled to arrive at 10:35 a.m. on embarkation and leave on debarkation at 4:20 p.m. be okay? (ship leaves from New Orleans)

7. Is there anything I'm not thinking about that I should consider before booking?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Wow! Lots of questions. I'll give you my two cents worth:

1. I'm used to going on week-long trips on big ships. Will I dislike the short itenerary and smaller/older ship?

A vacation is everything YOU make it! Yes, it will be different than what you're used to, but if it's what you can handle right now then DO IT! Would you feel better if you didn't go?

2. Is Paradise Beach (and the whole cruise, for that matter) easily doable with a good-natured 9 month old?