Just off the Sapphire Princess 11/11-11/21

lggfly

Ok, I've never done a review before and I'm not sure if this will actually turn out to be a review, or just some thoughts - so please bear with me. In addition, I want to make mention of certain things that I know I wanted to know about while I was waiting for my cruise to "arrive." In addition, I will make some comparisons to Royal Carribean, as we have cruised Princess twice and RC twice in the past 4 years.

Also you should know, both my wife and I are in our early 50's, travelled alone, and had a ph suite.

First, the ship is beautiful! And...we had a great 10 days, and I'm sorry we are not still on Sapphire (especially since they sailed today from LA for a 30 day cruise to Australia, via Hawaii and Tahiti). Our Cruise Director was Alistair and his sidekick was Neal, and they were fabulous. Both are very talented, have great senses of humor, and work so well together. Unfortunately, Neal was leaving the ship on Sunday, so there will be a new Deputy Cruise Director.

Our suite was very nice and comparable in size to the suites we've had on RC. The balcony is huge (actually the width of 2 regular balcony cabins). We had 2 lounge chairs and a table with 4 chairs...all wood. The room was mid ship and the ride was quite comfortable. The closet was large enough so we had extra space and there were more drawers in the room than we were able to use. Also, Princess provided us with flowers, about 8 airplane-sized bottles of liquor, some soda and some beer - all complimentary. The bathroom was actually 2 rooms - one had the sink and toilet, and one had the glass shower and jacuzzi (for one - although we both squeezed in) tub.