First Time Cruiser - What do I do??

jjjmom33

This is my first time on a cruise. There will be 6 adults. What should we do? Is there a good website for information on Progreso? Can you stay on the ship when it ports or do you need to get off and do something? How much money do you need to take roughly? Any help would be very much appreciated. I'm clueless what to do on an excursion and how to book it.

I have to advise you to go to Merida. It's a great city with nice little plazas and a colonial feel to it. Mayans are the nicest people and everybody's helpful. Shop in the retail section near the bus station where the locals buy their hammocks and hats, stay away from the tourist joints. There are some restaurants near the newer hotels that will serve you all the antojitos ( little plates) you want as long as you're ordering beers. Great fun with families sitting around singing along wiht the jukebox. Disfrutase!

bgood

Hola newbies and welcome to the cruise world. We have done Progreso 3 times and have done something different each time. The Dzibilchaltun Ruins are interesting. We did that our first trip. Trip 2 was a beach break. We walked from the shuttle to the beach in town and loafed all day. Had a good meal at Le Saint Bonnet, shopped around the mercado and had a pleasant day. Last year we took a tour to Reef Yucatan Resort with a stop at the Xcambo ruins. Great place, gorgeous pool, open bar and a good day in general. What was really great was the price of $30. If we go back we will probably do Merida. I would like to go to Chichen Itza, but 4 or 5 hours on a bus is not my idea of a vacation.

Definately get off of the ship. These places are neat.