Bahama Cruise Lines-Bermuda Star

This was the first cruise my wife and I took. It was a nice, though older and smaller (around 23,000 tons and 700 passengers) ship. I seem to remember hearing something about it running aground on the Atlantic coast not too long after we sailed on her. The captain we sailed with (Jens Thorn) piloted her, I believe, until 1991.

Great memories.

• 5 weeks later...
  • 8 months later...

This was my first cruise. I sailed this vessel with my family the year I graduated High School 1985. We went to Bermuda from New York. Only fond memories of a good time, good friends, and Bermuda was the best. Still trying to get back to Bermuda after 24 years.

She sailed for years as the Enchanted Isle out of New Orleans and had a very sizeable following. I knew people that would go on several 7-day cruises a year on her and loved it. She was the first ship I ever sailed on and she gave me the cruising bug in a big way. A sad day when Commodore went out of business and hastened the sale of this great ship for scrap. The evil deed was also done to her sister ship the old SS Argentina.

bermuda starwas a great ship the captian jens thorne and his dog goofy were always around meeting the passengers making sure everything was ok.had a lot of good times onthe ship out of new york and new orleans.the sister ship ran agound by the cape cod canalin heavy fog.

• 4 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

I was the Controller and Relief Chief Purser from time to time. I actually Brought it out on it maiden voyage that started at Baltimore Harbor, did a few hundred cruises on her. Everywhere from Panama Canal to Bermuda. She was a nice ship and Jens Thorn, was my boss. I remember the dog and many great voyages. I left the Bermuda Star in 1985 when I got married to the Gift shop Manager. Is there any other crewmembers out there? Just wanted to know?

Controller Bermuda Star

• 7 months later...
  • 1 month later...