Malaria- Belize & Roatan

cbressler76

Should I get meds for my boys (4 and 7 yrs old)? Have you all had any problems with this? I read a post earlier about someone asking.....I never thought about it, so now i am worried.... ....someone said that their dr told them to not let her child get off the ship in Belize!:eek:

I will start by saying that I AM NO DOCTOR! :D AND...CONSULT YOUR PED.

So, now that I got the disclaimer out of the way ;) I can tell you what I did with my kids.

No, we didn't get the malaria meds for them. Here's why. Those meds have some serious side effects. And before we left, I tried to read up on the areas and see if Malaria was a real risk for day cruisers. Malaria mosquitos bite from dusk to dawn. And since you probably won't be hopping around Belize at night - you won't be around to get bit.

I did wear Deet while I was there though, just in case. But no, I didn't get the Malaria meds.

So, now that I got the disclaimer out of the way ;) I can tell you what I did with my kids.

No, we didn't get the malaria meds for them. Here's why. Those meds have some serious side effects. And before we left, I tried to read up on the areas and see if Malaria was a real risk for day cruisers. Malaria mosquitos bite from dusk to dawn. And since you probably won't be hopping around Belize at night - you won't be around to get bit.

I did wear Deet while I was there though, just in case. But no, I didn't get the Malaria meds.

Thank you!! (I probably shouldn't ask this question because this isn't a medical board...lol....but I just wanted to see if others opinions where what I was thinking...) I live in Florida and mosquitos are always a dusk/dawn thing here.....