Some interest in a DSLR camera

I have some interest in a DSLR camera. I am a novice at taking photos. I have eyed the Canon T1i or the T2i which I am not sure is worth the extra price. I do like the T1i since I already have my memory cards and do not want to switch from another type. I got two of Canon cameras and really love them so you can say, I am a Canon guy. Would be willing to check out other DSLR cameras in that line that takes same type of cards as the Canon T1i does.

But really, I do not know if I will want to spend that kind of money on a DSLR. The price of the camera does not bother me that much but the lenses does. I have read a lot on these boards and know that you need to get deceit lenses for the camera.

We have a land trip to Alaska for 11 days and I am trying to decide if I upgrade to a DSLR is worth the extra expense. I love taking pictures of the scenery and animals of Alaska.

Now, I need some info from the experts. What kind of lense or lenses would I need to purchase for the Alaskan trip?

I have noticed that most DSLR cameras come with the 18-55mm lense. I am justing that is just a normal lense for everyday use.

I have noticed the limits of my PS cameras many of times.

Any info would be appreciated,

David

The T1i is a great camera, I too ama Canon guy and have the xsi. My friend has the t1i and it takes wonderful pictures. The did come out with the t2i not long after and it does sound quite improved. The 18-55 IS kit lens is great lens and should be enough for most people, especially if you combo it with a 50-250 or a 70-300 range lens. I would reccommend getting a lens with IS if you can affors it, will help out a lot!