Should I choose RCL-EOS or Cel.Summit?

acmes

I'm a total newbie when it comes to cruises. My 10 year-old DD has been asking for a cruise for a while now (thanks to Zack and Cody). Normally, we do somewhat exotic, self-styled vacations, but I'm planning to surprise her with a cruise for her 11th birthday. We live in the NYC area, so I figure we'll sail from there and I thought Bermuda would make a nice destination for late July. I originally targeted RCL-EOS, in part because of it's kids' reputation, but it has a short sailing time). Then I found the Celebrity Summit trip which I like for the following reasons:

1) ship seems more elegant though both ships are a bit worn

2) almost 3 full days in Bermuda vs. 1.5

3) Sunday departure

4) 2 days at sea each way, so my daughter gets the feel of it.

5) I booked a really nice aft veranda cabin

But RCL has the ice skating show and the rock-climbing wall. To be honest, my dd would probably prefer a Disney trip (thanks Zack and Cody), but I want to avoid flying, the price is so much higher and the destination (bahamas in July) is not so great. This is a surprise so I'm not sure I want to involve her in the decision. We're really looking for Mom & Me time. She's a quiet girl who enjoys art projects and swimming in the pool--not super athletic.

Should I stop second-guessing myself?:confused:

I can guarantee you and your family will like Celebrity Summit. It's my favorite cruise line and my son loves the "Fun Factory", which has the best staff at sea and the kids never want to leave.

My favorite vessels are the Millenium class Celebrity ships. I am doing the Celebrity Summit in August with my 10 year old. The only downside is the pools are saltwater but this isn't enough to bother my son. He likes Fun Factory better than Adventure Ocean.

I did Royal Independence of the Seas and it was really like a shopping mall at sea for me. We had fun, we always do but I didn't like it as much as Celebrity.