Can I be bounced from a disabled suite

acmes

I'm a newbie and am considering booking a mini-suite (aft) on the GEM. It's listed as disability. I seem to recall hearing that some cruise lines will "move" you in favor of a disabled passenger if nothing else is available. I'm really interested in having an aft cabin and there aren't many left, but I don't want to be bounced elsewhere and have no choices left at the last minute.

I'm a newbie and am considering booking a mini-suite (aft) on the GEM. It's listed as disability. I seem to recall hearing that some cruise lines will "move" you in favor of a disabled passenger if nothing else is available. I'm really interested in having an aft cabin and there aren't many left, but I don't want to be bounced elsewhere and have no choices left at the last minute.

I do believe you can be. Not sure it happens often but I think it does happen. This is a touchy subject so I will leave it at that!:o

You have brought up a very sensitive issue and I expect you will receive MANY responses. I am disabled and use an accessible cabin when cruising. They are few and often difficult to secure unless booked well in advance.

NCL reserves accessible cabins for individuals who NEED them. Although the cabin may show as 'available' when you look online, NCL will definitely ask if you are disabled/traveling with a wheelchair etc. In the event that you do book an accessible cabin, you need to know that you could be moved to a regular cabin if the accessible cabin is required by some who NEEDS it. In the cruising community, it is considered inconsiderate, inappropriate and bad etiquette to book an accessible cabin if you do not require one, and frequently will elicit much negative feedback. It is viewed in the same way as using a disabled parking space when you are not disabled.