Best Barrier Reef Snorkeling in Roatan?

rmartin1286

I'm new at snorkeling, so if this question sounds strange, please forgive me: I want to snorkel at the barrier reef while in Roatan, not just at a random place off a beach. I know this means we will have to take a boat to the reef. Does anyone have any suggestions for tour companies? I'm wanting to stay in the $50-70 range if possible. Thanks guys!

I suggest that you book a ships tour for snorkeling at Tayabana Beach where all you have to do is walk into the water from the beach & walk or swim out to the reef which is quite close.

This gets you to & from the beach & runs about $40 PP & included a nice beach chair.

You will see lots of fish here !!

Take several small cerial boxes from the breakfast buffet line to attract & feed the fish.

You will love the experience.

Bill in FL

If you are new to snorkelling, then you should do West Bay (the cruise industry calls it Tabyana beach). The reef comes within a few metres of the shore. The are channels that you can get through and out to the edge of the wall, which will really give you that "Barrier reef" feel, which is exactly what it is, it just happens to be right next to the shoreline here.

I suggest that you book a ships tour for snorkeling at Tayabana Beach where all you have to do is walk into the water from the beach & walk or swim out to the reef which is quite close.

This gets you to & from the beach & runs about $40 PP & included a nice beach chair.

You will see lots of fish here !!

Take several small cerial boxes from the breakfast buffet line to attract & feed the fish.

You will love the experience.

Bill in FL

Please, don't feed reef fish.

decal_fish_feed.JPG