Excursions for elderly - advice needed

Texas_cruiser

I'm new to CC, but have really found everyone's comments very helpful as we plan our first Alaska cruise aboard Diamond Princess (6/4/05).

In addition to my husband and teenage son, my 81 year old m-i-l will also be joining us on this cruise (her first). She's in excellent health for her age, but does walk with a cane since she had problems with balance at times. We'll need to tailor our excursions to those she can do for this trip. Any advice on which excursions would be most enjoyable for someone her age with mobility limitations? She's very excited about the trip (as are we all!).

We'll be in Juneau, Skagway, Ketchikan, and Victoria. Following are the tours we're considering:

• Helicopter glacier tour
  • White Pass RR
  • Renting a car and driving to Emerald Lake (if cars are still available!)
  • Misty Fjords Seaplane
  • Butchart Gardens

We're sincerely considering getting her a wheelchair or a high-end walker ("rollator") for this trip! :) I really appreciate any feedback anyone can give!

thanks!

Sondra

6 weeks to go, and counting!

I am thinking specifically about the helicopter and especially the sea plane. Getting on and off a sea plane moving up and down (even slightly) might prove a challenge. If she can step up, she can probably make it on and off the White Pass RR. The conductor and/or a member of your party could assist her. The other consideration (for all members of the party) would be motion sickness. Would everyone be OK on small aircraft or a helicopter?

Could your party split and one person accompany her on an alternate excursion if one of those listed proves unsuitable? Alaska provides a lot of options and there is something for everyone!

Lastly, I think it is great she is going and hope everyone loves Alaska as much as we do!