Grand Balcony Suite on Emerald Starship SUN

Travelsandy

Hi All, I am new to cruise critic, so please bear with me for my first post! My husband & I have booked a 15 day Splendours of Europe River Cruise for August 2017. As we wanted to get the business class deal with Evergreen, we had to select a "Grand Balcony" suite. We selected 302, as it is close to the exit areas, and being at the end, may give us a bit more privacy on the balcony. However, I have read a review on the Emerald Star, that 302 is close to the sewage outlet? Sounds like this may be not be such a good idea for our choice of cabin. Does anyone have a preference with their Grand Balcony suites?? Many thanks to all for some much-needed information.:)

Good Morning Travelsandy,

First welcome to Cruise Critic. This is an excellent sight for those of us that enjoy cruising and for exchanging and gathering of various different ideas and places to go and see and or those of us that may recommend various activities.

We are Lisa and Gary ( LoneStarCruisinCouple) from yes Texas. Just outside of Houston in Sugar Land.

I myself can't say for sure as to the discharge of a sewage outlet but would think that you wouldn't have to worry. Being that this is one of the exits and or loading points for the ship would think that there isn't.

Emerald should be a good choice for your first River Cruise as it is a part of Scenic. We have cruised with Scenic last September on the Jasper in a Royal Panorama Suite from Amsterdam to Budapest and had a marvelous time. With having Limo transfers between Airports and Hotels and ship and in reverse, with the Private Butlers and being All Inclusive. Enjoyed so much we are booked for two more one being the Spectacular South of France with Paris and Monte Carlo for September 2017 and on the new Eclipse for October 2018 for Cuba in Depth.