Mobility access options at embarkation

adelaidefc

I posted a question in @CruzLover80's Bellissima review and didn't want to hijack the great thread any further, so I thought I'd start a new one. 

I'm boarding what appears to be a pretty sold out Bellissima from Barcelona in May, and I'm getting a bit worried about embarkation. It's my first ever cruise so I'm a complete newbie to everything and I also have some mobility issues that make standing for long periods quite uncomfortable. I didn't think it was significant enough to warrant noting it to MSC but from the review and subsequent replies there's not quite enough seats in the Barcelona waiting area after security just before you embark, and you could be there for potentially even a couple of hours. Standing for that length of time would leave me in enough pain to mess up the rest of the cruise, and sitting on the ground wouldn't be great either. 

So I took the advice of @hlperez and called MSC Australia, but the only option that was given was to note in the booking a requirement for a wheelchair. I'm really reluctant to take this option - I don't need a wheelchair to walk (yet 🤔) and would feel absolutely awful skipping queues and being wheeled around then just jumping off the chair to get on the ship to head to the bar! 

Does anyone know if there's a middle ground that people have been offered (or seen offered) by MSC? Disability can come in all forms and I don't want to take away resources from those with more serious ailments, but I also would like to reduce the risk of myself ending up in a lot of pain too. 

Given it's my first cruise, are there any other times (i.e. safety drills, disembarkation etc) that could catch me out having to be standing for more than 20mins or so?

Edited by adelaidefc
Extra question :)