Help with Pre-Cruise Planning For Cruise Staring in Kiel, Germany

We just booked our first cruise with MSC on the MSC EURIBIA for 4/27/24- 5/4/24.  The itinerary is below.   We’ll be flying from Michigan, US to Germany.   We’d like to fly in 3-5 days early to explore cities near Kiel.   Do you have any suggestions on where we could fly to and then make our way to Kiel for our cruise?

I appreciate your feed back.    

image.thumb.png.6c74bce38cabd7eca221e46570f97567.png

I'm by no means an expert, so others who are will surely chime in - but I'd personally go with Hamburg. It's an easy train ride to Kiel. We have a port stop in Kiel on our cruise this summer, and many (most probably) people go to Hamburg or Lubeck for the day instead of staying in Kiel.

1 hour ago, cmph said:

I'm by no means an expert, so others who are will surely chime in - but I'd personally go with Hamburg. It's an easy train ride to Kiel. We have a port stop in Kiel on our cruise this summer, and many (most probably) people go to Hamburg or Lubeck for the day instead of staying in Kiel.

Thank you!   If we fly in 3-5 days early I thought we might have time to visit somewhere else before going to Hamburg and then Kiel.  But I’m not familiar with this area so I’m not sure what else is near by.  I need to do more research but I was hoping someone might be able to provide some suggestions.  

Very relevant question but with the information given it is a bit difficult to make suggestions. Personally, I would fly to Berlin and from there go to Hamburg or Kiel. You can fly back from Hamburg.
Interesting cities nearby are Lübeck or Flensburg. Depends on whether you rent a car or take public transport.

7 hours ago, hallasm said:

Very relevant question but with the information given it is a bit difficult to make suggestions. Personally, I would fly to Berlin and from there go to Hamburg or Kiel. You can fly back from Hamburg.