How do I try to get meal time changed?

Moogy

We booked late, so only the main (late) mealtime was available. I know that won't work for us, but I hate to eat at the alternative dining ALL the time. What is the proper way to request a change to early seating (or maybe the way most likely to be successful?) ?

Can I request it before the trip, or do I need to wait until I am on board?

Verbal request, written request, email? Do I ask my travel agent to handle this, or do I do it myself? I didn't think to ask her when I saw her today...

Should I give reasons (elderly father needs an early bedtime....) or skip the reasons because they don't care?

Thanks for any advice. I am new at this and don't know the ropes....

Moogy

Hi Moogy,

If your dad has a medical problem and needs to eat early you can get a doctor's letter for your TA to fax to HAL with a request for an early seating. Otherwise you will have to speak to the Maitre D' once you're onboard. He has hours on the day of boarding in one of the public rooms. The dining room staff will try very hard to accomodate you even if it doesn't happen on the first day, they will keep trying; at least this has been my experience.

GN

Moogy....I'd take that one step further even, and as soon as you board, find the Maitre'd, or go to the Front Desk to find out where the table-change station is - then be first in line.

On our recent Zui cruise in April, it was a full ship and there were very few table changes being made. I would make this the first priority stop once on board the ship, even before heading to the Lido!;)