OT - Ladies, have any of you taken allergy shots

saw1953

My doctor is recommending that I take allergy shots which I now understand is a 3 - 5 year process. Have any of you taken them and did they work? Did you have trouble getting your syringes and medicine through airport security?

I was a allergy nurse for 7 years. Yes, they do work! Over a six month (or so) period of time you go to your dr. up to three times a week(depending on your Dr.) and work your way up to a maintenance dose of once per week . After 6mo. to a year or so you can go to every other week.Most doctors will not let you give your own shots just in case of a reaction! But if you miss a week or two, you pick up where you left off or back up a little on your dosage.

i too took them for 7 years and they worked wonders... went from being allergic to everything down to only 2 which can now be controlled with zertec... i never had to give them to myself... always were administered by an allergy nurse at the clinic...

I too took them for many years. I was lucky that once I got to the maintenance stage, I had a friend who was an RN who could administer the shot. With two young children in tow and working 2nd. shift, it did get to be very tireing going back and forth then having to sit an wait at least a half hour for a "reaction". I have been taking one allergy pill per day for 365 days of the year at least 20 years. Allegra 180 mg. now works best for me. Oh, I have asthma now but it is controlled. Give the shots a try or ask what alternatives may work for you like pills, getting rid of the dog or cat, moving to a different climate! Yes these things may be necessary options.

As far as carrying needles, I think the nurse answered this one. There should be no problems with security as long as you have the script and syrum with you.

Bon Voyage