Scuba diving

FamilyDoc

Has anyone got any recomendations for scuba in Costa Maya? I saw on the Costa Maya tour site 2 different options and wondered if anyone had tried them.

My DH and I are both certified and want to scuba this trip and so our options are Belize, CM, Nassau or Coz.

Suggestions appreciated! :)

Hi,

No, I haven't been diving in Cozumel yet.... I've been there but wasn't a diver. All I know is that it's a must do for divers.... So on my Panama Canal cruise we got there and I'll get to dive Coz... I'm going with Diving with Allison on that one...... Not only from the reviews but the communication with her...... But I have no personal experience yet.......lol..........

• 2 weeks later...

Hi,

I recently returned from a 7-day cruise abroad the Carnival Miracle, which stopped in Costa Maya on 12-22-06 from 8am to 5pm. We had booked a 2-tank reef dive with Costa Maya Tours. Upon arrival we caught a taxi over to Tequilla Beach Club around 9am ship time where we were greeted by Otto from Costa Maya Tours. Our 1st dive was just my wife and I, Otto, and our divemaster Herve????, it was right out in front of the beach club on a portion of the one of the most beautiful healthy reefs we've seen. Herve??? was quite knowledgeable of the reefs and led us on a very relaxing dive. We returned to the beach club for our surface interval and were able to relax on the beach. On our 2nd dive another couple joined us and again we went right out in front to a different area of the reef where we encountered this giant eagle ray with about an 7-8 ft wingspan. This was an awesome sight to see and photograph, and an appropriate last dive of our cruise. The other nice thing was that we were done before noon ship time and had time to do other things. We had dove in both Grand Cayman and Belize earlier in the week and aside from the x-large green moray eel we encountered in Gr Cayman, this was the highlight of our dives.