Cribs vs. Pack-n-Plays in your cabin

krstee

Hey there everyone! This is my first time posting, although I lurk here alot :cool: ! I have only been on one cruise, a few years ago, and that was before I had my DD.

Ok, question for you experienced cruisers with kidlets.... I am aware that you can request a crib for your cabin. How do you know which one you will get (a pack-n-play vs. a portable crib)? Also, would it be prudent to bring my own pack-n-play - or would that be a waste of precious luggage space on the plane?

I have been doing A LOT of research on this - since my online buddies (we all met on a pregnancy bulletin board) are talking about doing a group cruise. Most of these ladies have not cruised before, and I want to get some information so I can share it with them before we figure out where we want to go and when and so forth.

BTW - Thanks in advance for all of your comments! :D

I have been given cribs only but I have seen pack-n-plays being delivered to cabins now that me daughter is out of them (she's 4). It really is a crap shoot and I don't know how you would get an answer. However, I would not lug the pack and play along. Too much weight and extra luggage. Do take a blanket for your child as they used full size stuff in our cribs. I'm a safety nut when it comes to kids so I took matress straps to secure down the sheet they used then brought DD a crib size blanket.

We were just on NCL Dawn and were told by NCL that on the Dawn all of them are pack and plays. We brought our own sheet for it from home. That is one thing to be warned about. They try to put a big sheet on the crib or pack and play so make sure to bring your own sheets or some sort of mattress straps.