Summer South American Cruises?

doch18

Other than the cruises to the Galapogos Islands, are there any cruises that visit South America during the end of May, June, or July? I'm relatively new to cruising (only two thus far), and I'm really striking out on my searches. I realize those are the winter months for the Southern Hemisphere, but I thought I might find something in Argentina or Northern South America. Thanks for any help.

Other than the cruises to the Galapogos Islands, are there any cruises that visit South America during the end of May, June, or July? I'm relatively new to cruising (only two thus far), and I'm really striking out on my searches. I realize those are the winter months for the Southern Hemisphere, but I thought I might find something in Argentina or Northern South America. Thanks for any help.

Not a cruise ship, but a very interesting trip. You can go one way only as well as RT. Freighter travels RT East Coast-USA to West Coast/South America every 6 weeks. http://www.freighterworld.com/places/wcsa.html#HBCSAVHamburgo

I took a container ship from Chile to Philadelphia. I am in the global logistics business and on the container ship were 55 containers of Thompson seedless grapes that I was directly responsible for. VERY, VERY different than a cruise ship and one of the few ways you would be able to go to South America in the summer time.

There is not much going on in the way of cruising in South America in the Northern Hemisphere Summer. The larger cruise ships that go there tend to be European companies giving their ships something to do during the long European winter, they being unable to compete with the Amercian lines on the Caribbean routes. Both Costa and MSC have been very successful in Brazil in the last few years since the American companies pulled out in 2001. So successful, in fact, that the American companies are now coming back to South America in force.