Booking air on your own vs through Celebrity

RockyTop2

I have always found booking my own air to be cheaper than booking through Celebrity. But, many on these boards find that not to be the case, especially on the transatlantics. My question is, does it matter when you book your air through Celebrity in terms of price? Is the cost usually more or less closer to the sailing date? Or does the cruise airfare stay the same price no matter when you book it? We usually book our cruises pretty far out so maybe that is why the cruise air is always higher. And if the cruise airfare price does drop before you cruise, do you get the lower fare? Lots of questions, I know, but I am fairly new to Cruise Critic and am learning so much through these boards so I appreciate all your advice.

I have always found booking my own air to be cheaper than booking through Celebrity. But, many on these boards find that not to be the case, especially on the transatlantics. My question is, does it matter when you book your air through Celebrity in terms of price? Is the cost usually more or less closer to the sailing date? Or does the cruise airfare stay the same price no matter when you book it? We usually book our cruises pretty far out so maybe that is why the cruise air is always higher. And if the cruise airfare price does drop before you cruise, do you get the lower fare? Lots of questions, I know, but I am fairly new to Cruise Critic and am learning so much through these boards so I appreciate all your advice.